The Clowes Collaborative

The Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, Hoosier Art Salon and the Allen Whitehill Clowes Charitable Foundation, Inc. are partners in the Clowes Collaborative Inaugural Invitational Art Exhibition.

The exhibition opened to Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra concert guests the evening of Friday, March 10, at the Hilbert Circle Theatre. The Allen Whitehill Clowes Charitable Foundation, Inc. funded two awards of $7,500 each. The winning artists were Fred Doloresco and Michael Martin.

The exhibition on the oval promenade features one current work from each of 18 Indiana artists who have either won Best of Show or other significant awards in the Hoosier Salon Annual Exhibition in the past 27 years. A separate exhibition of works by C.W. Mundy, who is the Hoosier Salon living artist with the highest number of Best of Show awards, is in the Wood Room.  

The exhibition will remain on display through June 4 to Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra guests in conjunction with ISO Hilbert Circle Theatre performances. Art in the exhibition is available for sale on the Hoosier Art Salon website.

As we approach Hoosier Art Salon’s 100th birthday next year, this is one of several events to celebrate Indiana artists and provide additional outlets for their works to be seen, appreciated and purchased.

You may recall that Hoosier Salon had a similar exhibit featuring works by previous Best of Show winners for its 90th anniversary. That exhibit was at the Indianapolis Museum of Art.

The artists whose works are included in the Clowes Collaborative Inaugural Invitational Art Exhibition are:

Roy Boswell

John Michael Carter

Karen Chevalier-Smith

Fred Doloresco

Forrest Formsma

Joel A. Fremion

Mary Gretsinger

Alan Larkin

William Burton Lawson

Wyatt LeGrand

Michael Martin

C.W. Mundy

Russell Recchion

Todd Reifers

Donna Shortt

Jerry Smith

Stephanie Spay

Stephanie Paige Thomson

Event Sponsor: Daniel H. Spitzberg, M.D. Charitable Fund

Supporting Sponsors:

The Rapp Families – George, John and James; and Jerry and Rosie Semler;

Underwriting Sponsor: Diana and Dan Yates

Leave a Reply